The ugliest code I have ever created

During the last summer I learned the hard way why it’s important to give your variables, functions and classes a meaning full name. I build a program (in python) that would eventually create a Excel file with a balance sheet and a profit and loss account. In the part of the program where everything is written to the Excel file I had the “amazing” idea to give my function and variable names shorted and non-descriptive names. The result:

def WSubFunc(self, x, lst, index, page):
    n = x
    e = 0
    for item in self.r:
        if item[0] in lst:
            page['A' + str(x)] = item[0]
            page['C' + str(x)] = item[1]
            e = x
            x += 1
        if e == 0:
            return x
        else:
            if e != n:
                page['D' + str(x)] = "=SUM(C" + str(n) + ":C" + str(e) + ")"
                self.total[index].append('D' + str(x))
                return x
            else:
                page['D' + str(x)] = "=C" + str(e)
                self.total[index].append('D' + str(x))
                return x

Can you see what is does? From the code alone I can’t. There is a comment close by that is so non-descriptive that the only reason I know what it does because I made the comment. It creates the type of structure you see in the following picture bellow Particulars and Amount.

winst-verlies

There is so much wrong with this code and the code in the rest of the project that if someone would ever want to extend the project, I would suggest a full rewrite. But besides that the application works and most of all it gave me a few very important insight in why I would name my variables, functions and classes with a meaningful name. The result is that I will keep myself from now on to the following rules:

  • The name accurately describe what the class/function/variable does.
  • No abbreviations allowed when there are no memory limitations.
  • The only time I use a one letter variable is as a counter in a for-loop.

These rules should prevent the l’enfer c’est moi thought I get when I look it the code in this post.

 

Leave a Reply

